Month: March 2009

  • What do I do with this textbook histrionic...

    "Histrionic females are skilled at exaggerating their needs to desired males while masking their true promiscuous nature. They often seek to control their partner through emotional manipulation. Histrionic females manipulate others to gain nurturance whereas sociopathic males manipulate others for material gain."-.http://www.ulm.edu/~palmer/AntisocialandHistrionicPersonalityDisorders.htm

     

    This is so messed up. It's scary to think that her whole "personality" is actually a conglomerate of  the signs and symptoms of a disorder.

     

    I cant believe I fell in love with a lie...

  • Realizations change lives

    ahh my entry was murdered. and I'm too lazy to rewrite it. so basically while I was waiting for my photography class to start I was doing a little wikipedia session on psychological disorders only to come across one that really impacted me...

    Histrionic personality disorder

    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Histrionic personality disorder (HPD) is defined by the American Psychiatric Association as a personality disorder characterized by a pattern of excessive emotionality and attention-seeking, including an excessive need for approval and inappropriate seductiveness, usually beginning in early adulthood.

    The essential feature of histrionic personality disorder is an excessive pattern of emotionality and attention-seeking behavior. These individuals are lively, dramatic, enthusiastic, and flirtatious. They may be inappropriately sexually provocative, express strong emotions with an impressionistic style, and be easily influenced by others

    The symptoms include:

    • Constant seeking of reassurance or approval.
    • Excessive dramatics with exaggerated displays of emotions.
    • Excessive sensitivity to criticism or disapproval.
    • Inappropriately seductive appearance or behavior.
    • Excessive concern with physical appearance.
    • A need to be the center of attention (self-centeredness).
    • Low tolerance for frustration or delayed gratification.
    • Rapidly shifting emotional states that may appear shallow to others.
    • Opinions are easily influenced by other people, but difficult to back up with details.
    • Tendency to believe that relationships are more intimate than they actually are.
    • Making rash decisions.
    • Threatening or attempting suicide

    As I read this I realized that this described my ex girlfriend exactly...
    Which in a way is a relief because After doing more research I came across this...

    Every person is different, but persons who truly have histrionic PD tend to seek attention, especially from the opposite sex, but they tend to have real issues with intimacy and closeness. That is, they may elicit attention but they essentially "freak out" when the person gets too close. I call them "runaway bunnies" because they tend to run away hoping that someone will chase after them and want them. Your girlfriend probably likes to have men show her attention because it gives her that thrill of being wanted. Her biggest fear may be not being noticed or overlooked and not loved. So, you have yourself an interesting dilemma. You want her to be close to you and you find her very sexually interesting. As do many men...I'm sure. Then when she has your attention, she runs away to the bar or somewhere else to get more attention. She is a runaway bunny. You aren't going to be able to keep her in a cage my friend. If you are going to make this relationship work, she has to be willing to confront the idea of "not being noticed." That will be very hard for her to handle. She will see you as the bad guy who is stopping her from getting her needs met.

    -JR, M.A.
    Clinical Psychology Expert

    And then it hit me, all this time I was beating myself up because I thought the reason that she just left was because I had done something wrong. Clearly she was just exhibiting the effects of this personality disorder.

    I feel a huge weight off my chest, and now I think I finally have the closure i need to burn some bridges.

  • Of all the things someone could ever ask for...

    Scarlet lace in her hair draws me near and...
    I hoped she would replace the doll
    with all the memories lurking in tranquil dreams
    my sleep would betray me
    I'd paint the sky with all the lies
    and quickly run out of canvas...
    This tragic fire burned the building
    We'd make it better with wooden boards and band aids
    This looming structure would soon be forgotten
    a beautiful arsonist,
    my severed phantom limb
    gone... yet lingering
    my photographs corrupted
    the malice behind that endearing smile, not present
    love me with your pathetic smile
    it's all you've ever known
    A touch of class  conceals your facade
    I loved your mask
    These ridiculous definitions of words that expressed my adoration
    I'd write you letters marked "return to sender"
    your smile and laughter echoed your flawless imperfections
    your eyes...
    If I could gaze into them everyday no longer would I need these sunsets.
    A fist clenched
    the fragile piece of lace burns in the wind
    Stockholm Syndrome
    and the victim fell in love with the captor.

    of all the things I could ever ask for

    These lucid dreams and sunsets I'd request..
    .

  • Crossing boundaries is what makes us human.

  • "My mistake for carving,
    my name inside your head.
    you're the only person,
    the only one I regret."

    A feeling like lead on my shoulders
    this horrible feeling that some argue is suggested by the mind and others: Biology
    Defective mute unwilling to change
    A melodramatic play with static roles and no dynamics
    Yet... the other part of me yearns for an alternate reality
    I'd step into your inverted world where perfection is nonexistent
    I never asked for you to bestow me with this fate
    a king... a god... a fool...
    jesters in the court of sanity
    who's plea will be heard?
    when you're lying on the bathroom floor,
    suspended from a rope embracing your collar,
    or sprawled on a bed with an empty bottle
    The human structure... an amazing feat
    these mechanisms for survival ingrained by evolution
    and yet we dismantle these meticulous defenses
    as marionettes do cut their strings
    could we put together these faulty mannequins?
    the mannequins
    shes the inanimate object kept in the attic
    this defective box is overflowing
    the soft entangled material spilling forth
    she's assembling herself
    a silhouetted form gazing from the window
    and "the treasures you keep find ways to escape"
    malignant eyes reflecting a burning sky
    with lips capable of seducing blind eyes.
    and yet from all these convoluted sentiments
    an imperfect mind manufactures this construed reality
    I've heard "the mind plays tricks on us "
    I never thought it would go this far...
    A Narcissistic statue yearning for admiration
    for the mind and heart are at constant battle
    when compromise is reached
    the mind creates the hearts gift
    and that is the greatest deception.