Month: March 2008

  • Earth Hour

    Make a positive impact in the world and join the global movement of Earth Hour. Turn off your lights from 8p.m. to 9p.m. March 29, 2008. Even if you haven't already taken steps to stop global warming in one way or another, this is something that is easy to do and the prefect way to start.

    Heres the link: Earth Hour

  •     After having a lengthy discussion with my uncle about my dad I began to realize that I had not put myself in my dads shoes, so to speak. I realized that the way he grew up had a lasting impression on how he acted towards us and that telling him all his faults would just aggravate the situation and that he wouldn't change. I like to think that people change but I get the impression that the older people get the more they become set in their ways. I guess that I haven't been contributing to the house as I ought to and that might be one of thee reasons that I get hounded by him.  My uncle told me that the more I contribute the more respect I get from my parents. It's strange I always thought that if you gave respect you got in in return. Sometimes it feels like a one way street with parents, almost like it's impossible to do good by them. I'm not going to stress it so much anymore. You can't choose your parents and I guess learning to deal with them one way or another is part of growing up. All this anger and resentment I hold is not doing me any good. I think I need to deal with my problems first before I talk to my dad about all this.

  •     I think we're getting new neighbors, I saw a moving truck down the street and there's some remodeling going on next door in the house which no one has lived in for a little over a year now. Hopefully the people who lived there don't move back over here because that would be a major letdown.

    Edit: Last Saturday I saw Shutter it was meh 5.5 out of 10

  •     So no Hiatus...  Anyways today was pretty chill I finally got around to talking to my mom and sister about my dad's behavior lately.  I feel like some times I'm on pins and needles when he's around and a comment he made just threw me off.  Basically he said that no one ever acts like they care when he gets home. I felt guilty because I guess there's some shred of truth to it, whenever he comes home from work no one even acknowledges his presence. But I feel like "Why should I?" I get so angry about all the times we've had disagreements and how he always found a way to bring us down with him and make us feel like shit. The way he operates disgusts me and at the same time I feel bad for him. It's like this power he has I don't know how he does it. One minute he's super pissed and then like 5 minutes later he acts as if nothing happened and "tries to be your friend again". Why does this make me angry? For the simple fact that he doesn't ever get over things he just sets it aside and uses it against you at some later time. I also hate how he always compares me to other people's kids, he does it in such an implied way. It makes me feel like he thinks they're better than me especially when ever he talks about my cousins,that are around my age, almost as if he's insinuating that I should be more like them. 

    Dad you care to much what people think about you, no one is perfect. People make mistakes yelling about it won't change the past. Patience... you should try it some time. Insulting and judging people doesn't make you a better person. Everyone is a hypocrite in some way or another whether they know it or not, you just overdo it. Criticism is only good when it's constructive not when it's intended for malice.

    Pushing us away with your constant negativity and judgments it's a wonder we don't acknowledge you, right?

    With that in mind I'm not ungrateful for all the things you have provided me with.. a home, food, clothes, an education. But if you expect me to pretend like everything is fine between you and me your wasting your time.

    One day I'll find the words to tell you all this.

  •      I was reading this article online about a "new generation of kids" and let me just say I was really angry at a particular statement that was made. "The kids in "Frontrunners" are the leading edge of what's being called
    the millennials—the cohort born after 1982—but you might call them the
    Look at Me Generation." heres the link. Look At Me Generation? I think thats pretty condescending in a way it's like they're saying that we're attention starved. Yet there maybe some truth to this. What do you think about this "Look at Me Generation" title? Personally I don't think that the year range is correct.

  •     Spring breaks been pretty tight.

  •      Today was really nice out, I really felt the signs that spring is coming. I always get stoked when spring and summer come around. I think its a combination of escape from the winter and the start of new things to come. My attitude starts to change around this time I feel more content and hopeful I guess. It also isn't as depressing as winter which causes the day to seem cut short because it gets darker sooner, around spring it gets darker later on in the day.

    Spring break starts next week.

  •     Not much up today, I got out of guitar class early. I haven't had enough time to just relax things have been pretty busy, so I think I might do just that.